Oeko-Institut’s General Assembly elects new Committee


Oeko-Institut’s Committee has three new external members: Anton Lutz, Thomas Rahner and Ulrike Schell were elected as Committee representatives at the General Assembly of Oeko-Institut’s members held on 2 July 2011 in Berlin. Dr. Barbara Praetorius and Nadia vom Scheidt were also re-elected to the Committee for a further two years on Saturday. Barbara Praetorius will continue in her capacity as its First Chair.

Additional external and voluntary members of the Committee are Kathleen Spilok and Dorothea Michaelsen-Friedlieb, the latter of whom will continue in her capacity as Second Chair of the Committee. The Committee members elected internally in July were also confirmed for a period of two years.

New Committee members at a glance

Anton Lutz is co-director of KWA Contracting AG, an energy contracting agency situated in the south-western federal state of Baden-Württemberg. To Oeko-Institut’s Committee he brings many years of experience in the field of renewable energies and climate protection. He has carried out work for the University of Stuttgart (Universität Stuttgart) on local solar heating as well as for energy agencies in Baden-Württemberg and Sachsen-Anhalt. Lutz explained the reasons for his candidacy as follows: “I see Oeko-Institut as an important institution and would like to contribute to the continued achievement of its goals with the knowledge and experience I have gained in the energy sector

Thomas Rahner is a lawyer who specialises on environmental law; he was previously a member of Oeko-Institut’s Committee in 1995-1996 and has been working in cooperation with Oeko-Institut on legal issues. “I’ve been following the activities of Oeko-Institut with great interest for a long time now,” said Rahner. “I would like to make my legal and political knowledge and experience available to the Committee”. The administrative lawyer, who specialises in environmental, building, planning and municipal law, was mayor of Biebesheim (in southern Hesse) from 1994 to 2006 and ended his employment on a local political level in March 2011.

Ulrike Schell has been a member of Oeko-Institut for over 25 years. She was a member of its Committee from 1986 to 1990 and is looking forward to a second term. “Since the 1990s I’ve been following the work conducted by Oeko-Institut from a short distance – the institute has carried out numerous exciting projects which reflect its mission statement. Now I would like to support the institute again more actively in thinking strategically ahead.” Schell is currently head of the Food and Environment Division at the Consumer Association of North Rhine-Westphalia (Verbraucherzentrale NRW) where she has been working in a variety of capacities since the mid-1980s.

Oeko-Institut (Institute for Applied Ecology) is a non-profit association with more than 2,600 members. Members serve on Oeko-Institut’s Committee on a voluntary, honorary basis.

Interested in becoming a member of Oeko-Institut? For more information, visit www.oeko.de/members


Mandy Schoßig
Head of Public Relations & Communications
Oeko-Institut e.V., Berlin Office
Tel: ++49 (0)761/452 95-334
Email contact