Executive Board

Oeko-Institut’s Executive Board represents the institute externally, bears responsibility for its strategic development, oversees personnel management and development, and directs overall operative affairs. It has four members, all of whom direct, organise and oversee the institute’s operations on behalf of the Committee. The members of the Executive Board are:

Michael Sailer

Michael Sailer has been CEO of Oeko-Institut since 2009 and works primarily at the offices in Berlin and Darmstadt. He has been working at Oeko-Institut for thirty-five years and was a member of the Executive Board for ten years prior to his appointment as CEO. His main fields of work include reactor safety and waste management, nanotechnology and conflict management. From 1983 to 2009 he was Head of the Nuclear Engineering & Facility Safety Division at Oeko-Institut. A chemical engineer, Sailer is a member of several commissions and committees, including the German Environment Ministry's Reactor Safety Commission (1999 - 2014), which he chaired from 2002 to 2006. Since 2008 he has headed the Nuclear Waste Management Commission, which advises the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety on matters of nuclear waste management.

more information

Susanne Fröschl

Susanne Fröschl has been a Member of the Executive Board since 1 March 2015 and works in Oeko-Institut’s Freiburg office. The majority of her professional career has centred on the field of research management. From 1995 to 1998 she worked in the General Secretariat of EUROCARE, a European network for the promotion of research and development in the preservation of cultural heritage in Europe. From 2000 to February 2015, she worked at the Institute for Human Sciences (IWM) in Vienna, where she headed the institute’s administration as Executive Director from 2001 onwards. Susanne Fröschl studied communication and political sciences at the University of Salzburg and the Bowling Green State University (Ohio). Alongside her professional activities, she completed a post-graduate MBA in Intra- and Entrepreneurship in 2008.

more information

Prof. Dr. Rainer Grießhammer

Rainer Grießhammer is a member of Oeko-Institut’s Executive Board and also works in Freiburg. For over thirty years he has been working at the institute in different positions: as an honorary member of the Committee, CEO, head of division, and author. His key areas of research are product-related environmental protection and sustainable industrial policy. He holds a doctorate in chemistry and from 1992 to 1994 was a member of the Enquete Commission of the German Parliament (Bundestag) on the “Protection of Man and the Environment – Options for sustainable management of substance chains and material flows”. From 2004 to 2008 Grießhammer was a member of the German Advisory Council on Global Environmental Change (WBGU) and of the Advisory Board of German Federal Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Consumer Protection on "Consumer and Food Policy”. Since 2003 he has been an acting member on the board of trustees of the consumer foundation Stiftung Warentest as well as a member on the board of trustees of Utopia, an internet platform for sustainable consumption. He is Executive Director of the Legacy for the Future Foundation (Stiftung Zukunftserbe) which was founded by Oeko-Institut. In 2010, Rainer Grießhammer received the Environmental Award of the German Environmental Foundation DBU (Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt). Since July 2012 he is Member of the Research Advisory Board for the "Consumers, Market and Policy" Research Centre at the Zeppelin University Friedrichshafen in Germany.

more information

Anke Herold

Anke Herold is a member of the Executive Board since 1 April 2018. The geo-ecologist has been working at Oeko-Institut’s Berlin office since 1997. From 2009 until 2018, she was Research Coordinator for International Climate Policy. Her work focuses on European and international climate policy, in particular the design of the international climate regime. Anke Herold has been actively involved in international climate negotiations under the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) since 1999 and acted as negotiator for the European Union. Since 2007, Anke Herold has been regularly co-chairing in climate negotiations with a focus on transparent reporting, accounting of mitigation targets and verification of greenhouse gas data and emission reductions. She was lead author for several reports of the IPCC (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change). Since 2016, she has been a member of the ICAT Advisory Committee that strategically advises the Initiative for Climate Action Transparency (ICAT), a new fund that supports reporting on greenhouse gas mitigation in developing countries. Currently she is Chair of the Management Committee of the European Topic Centre on Air and Climate Change Management anda member of the Editorial Board of the journal "Carbon Management".

more information